Computer Science (AS)

students working on computers

The Computer Science Major allows students whose transfer major is Computer Science to earn an associate degree while meeting the typical lower division requirements for a Computer Science degree at a four-year institution. Because the lower division requirements vary widely among four-year institutions, students should check with a counselor to be certain that their coursework meets the requirements at the institution to which they plan to transfer.

You can view the requirements for the major on the SRJC website.

E-mail the coordinator of the major for further information.

Changes to CS 10 / CS 11 Sequence

Effective Fall 2018, the two-semester CS 10 / CS 11 sequence was replaced with a three-semester sequence, CS 10A / CS 10B / CS 10C. This is the configuration that most colleges are moving to, and studies have shown that it increases student success.

Each course is 4 units, 3 hours lecture, 3 hours lab.

You can start with CS 10B if you have experience equivalent to CS 10A in a high-level programming language.

CS 10 and CS 11 were offered for the last time in Summer 2018. Students who have taken CS 10 but not CS 11 should enroll in the new CS 10B.

Unfortunately, due to state law, students who have taken CS 11 will not be allowed to enroll in the new CS 10C.

Please contact Dave Harden at if you have additional questions.

This information is available as a PDF file.